Cherokee historical Territorial Claim Boundry
Cherokee Territorial Claims

Trail of Tears Documentory

Cherokee Historical Timeline

Georgia Tribe of Eastern Cherokee on Facebook

Car Donation
Car Donation

In Association with
Click Here to view our
Amazon products for sale.

The Cherokee Clans

(The Cherokees have 7 clans - the women have the clans - men do not.)

When children were born, they took their mother's clan and you were forbidden to marry within your clan. The members of the same clan were considered brothers and sisters.

The seven clans are: Wolf - (a-ni-wa-ya), Deer - (a-ni-a-ha-wi), Bird - (a-ni-tsi-s-qua), Longhair - (a-ni-gi-lo-hi), Wild Potato - (a-ni-go-da-ge-wi), Blue - (a-ni-sa-ho-ni), Paint - (a-ni-wo-di).

One of the reasons the women were given the clans was that they were the givers of life. Other tribes have clans. Some names of the clans are different and some are similar to the Cherokees.

The women were free to choose the men they wished to marry, as long as they were from different clans. When a woman divorced her husband, she would pack all his clothes and set them outside the door --- it was that easy.

View Complete History Resource Here:
Seven Clans

Other Web Links Referencing
the Seven Clans of the Cherokee Nation:

7 Cherokee Clans
Cherokee Clans
The 7 Sacred Familial Clans
The Seven Clans of the Cherokee
The Seven Clans

For further information, please visit

Home     Mission Statement     FAQ     Enrollment Info
Historical People     Historical Places     Historical Events
Learning Links     Keetoowah Shop     Financial Aid


[an error occurred while processing this directive]